a mile a day keeps the orthopedist away

In an effort not to get injured, I have made the executive decision to refine my goal: running 7 miles a week, while being active on only six of seven days. Yes, I know, the prescription is mile q.d. to be taken without exception, but the fact remains that I have endured one too many injuries in the preceding year which has left me feeling more than a little weary of running 7 consecutive days a week, week in and week out for the foreseeable future. So I have resolved to run 7 miles a week over the course of 6 days a week. The first day of the one week cycle will be a 2 mile run, and the cycle will conclude with an active rest day featuring none other than a runner’s best friend, yoga. After runs, I typically foam roll and do a bit of informal yoga anyway.

In order to truly maintain mile q.d status, I have considered doing a lighter than light jog, basically a jog at walking speed on day 7, but I’m not sure if I could stomach it without turning up the intensity. Perhaps I will try it at some point in the future, but for now, I think mixing it up with a nice 2 mile run will add some needed run variety, and also yield me the freedom to say fuck it, it’s Friday night, I just got out of my didactic session, and I don’t give a flying fuck about anything but food right now.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Lucky says:

    Wonderful exniapatlon of facts available here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

